The Bullet Train North

My first day on my own was a busy one. I woke up early to clean the apartment and pack for Beijing. Upon entering the kitchen at 5am, cockroaches skittered around in the ceiling and cabinets. They were big, fast, and juicy too. I sprayed Raid everywhere, but I’m sure there’s more. At least they aren’t any where else in the apartment. After that debacle, I left for the office (smelling of Raid).

At the office, I finalized plans for Beijing and met more co-workers. The rest of the afternoon I ran around locating a set of empty travel size containers for my shampoo, conditioner, & soap. But before that I went on an expedition to find a converter; when I return to Nanjing that 35rmb waste will be returned to seller.

Around noon I rushed home, finished packing, swept up more dead bugs, and jumped in my company car for a ride to the train station.

image

image

I have to say traveling alone is freeing, but nerve-wracking. Until now I’ve had assistance navigating China. This evening I will attempt finding my hotel by following a paper half covered in Chinese characters. I’ve been kicked out of the nest; it is time for Baby Bird to fly.

Here’s to a nice weekend of relaxation in Beijing.

2 comments

  1. Relaxing in Beijing? I haven’t been to a city in China that I found “relaxing”. Exhilerating. Exhausting. Exciting. All those. But never relaxing.

Leave a comment